Time/Races are alike, there is always another one

Well it is NYE. I normally would have started this day with a good run so I could partake in good food and beverages this evening. But this year I am doing it in reverse. My run will be tonight! That’s right. The Beat the Ball. The 5k will begin at 11:35 and runners will have 25 minutes to run the 3.1 miles. I must say, I have not run that fast in a few years. But it is possible with the amount of energy that the end of one year and the start of another can bring.

This is not how I thought I would be celebrating. The past few years have included a fire place, favorites cocktails, and a wonderful homemade meal. But things change.

Change isn’t necessarily bad. It just is. Maybe I could relate tonight’s race to a new year. Some years are great, as are some runs. Other years are hard, wonder how to get through them and want to be anywhere else, like some races can be. I do think they are similar. There is always another year and there is always another race. You, have control over how each can turn out. Attitude is a big part in overcoming both. Also preparation. Did you do everything to get yourself ready for the challenge? Did you practice? Did you stretch? Then also reflection. What about the race/year went well? What would you change? Keep the same?

Maybe I am stretching the symbolism here. But however your year went, I hope you learned some things from it, have some great memories, and feel more prepared for the next one.

Surround yourself tonight with people who are special. I will be ringing in or should I say “running in” 2012 with one of my oldest and dearest friends.

Happy New Year!

 

Jess

Thoughts?

