Keeping your Head Healthy

Last week I ran twice. Monday I ran to get the lactic acid out of my legs. Tuesday, against my better judgement I ventured to the boardwalk again.Usually Tuesday is a recovery day. My body was already week and my head was beginning to follow suit. Being in the middle of moving and a major work deadline, I felt as though my body was shutting down. I was all set to go home and drink some hot tea and curl up. As it would turn out, I had a late afternoon text to meet some friends for a run. This is when I should have listened to my body. But against my better judgement and trying to be a “tough guy” I went ahead and went to meet them. I ended up not seeing them at all, I ran farther than I would have planned and have been fighting a horrible cold ever since. Don’t be afraid to say no and listen to what your body is telling you. If it tells you it is tired, give it rest.

As this last weekend passed, I was so worn out, I could not run. I have been trying to rest the last few afternoons. Today after work, I made myself go for an easy walk in my new neck of the woods. I thought this walk would be just as helpful for my mind and soul as for my body. I walked the Labyrinth at the Edgar Cayce Center, down to the beach and took a seat on the sand. I paused and looked out at the waves. The calming sounds, the smells, and the scenery were all helpful in rejuvenating my mind. I felt comforted and welcomed by my new surroundings. Clearing your head can be just as important in your overall health as an afternoon run. I finished my walk through the streets of the North End. Glad to be able to call this area home for a while.

Happy Trails

Jess

20120206-162736.jpg

20120206-162749.jpg

2 thoughts on “Keeping your Head Healthy

Thoughts?

