Tabata

This morning I was awakened by some fierce winds. I woke up right before my alarm went off at 5:30. Enough time to catch the morning news and a cup of coffee before heading to my 6:15 am physical training appointment at 79 PT. I peeked out the back door to hear and see the winds blowing wildly in the moonlight. It was cool. 52 degrees when I pulled out of the driveway.

There were 4 of us there this morning. Apparently that is the perfect amount of people to do the Tabata workout. Tabata, what is that? I had never heard of this workout. But as the trainer wrote the workout on the big white board, I heard moans and groans. I guess I was in for a treat. The workout was described to me as wanting to puke afterwards. I think that may have been a slight exaggeration. This version of the Tabata workout would be approximately 20 minutes of intense nonstop burning! GREAT, let’s get started. I love quick high intensity workouts.

Tabata was created in Japan by Dr. Izumi Tabata, for Olympic Speed Skaters.

Original Tabata Workouts looked like the following:

5 minutes of warm-up
8 intervals of 20 seconds all-out intensity exercise followed by 10 seconds of rest
2 minutes cool-down

Our Workout looked like this:
Jack Knife Abs
Push Up knee tucks (I modified due to knee issues)
Squats
Dumbbell row

Each of the exercises above would be completed in 8 sets. Each set lasted for 20 seconds. It is crucial you have a timer or stop watch for this workout. Timing and rest are key. Giving your body the maximum amount of recovery, combined with the highly intense reps is what make this training successful.

Each person is in a station. For example, I started out with squats. Someone else with push ups, another with abs, and lastly another with rows. We all move together, each of us completing 8 sets (20 seconds each) worth of exercises in our particular station. Without changing stations, we completed the series. Once we completed the 8 sets, we rotated. After my squats I moved to rows -I used 8 pound weights (8 sets, 20 seconds each), rotate to pushups(8 sets, 20 seconds each), rotate and then finished with abs (8 sets, 20 seconds each).

I didn’t feel like I wanted to puke. Actually I felt great! I felt tired but accomplished. I loved this workout. I liked it because it didn’t require any equipment. This workout is both effective and time efficient! This workout would be a great one for those days you’re short on time or rainy days when you may not want to get out and run. I plan to try this Tabata again soon.

20120405-181617.jpg

20120405-181623.jpg

20120405-181637.jpg

20120405-181650.jpg

20120405-181657.jpg

20120405-182516.jpg

Thoughts?

