Red Meat

When did red meat and I become enemies? I am not a hippie or tree hugger. I do buy organic and buy fresh groceries every few days. But recently I gave up several different foods, particularly red meat. Not for the moral code of not killing them. Sorry all you PETA people, I think God put animals here on Earth to feed us. I grew up in a house of hunters for crying out loud. However I did give it up because of the way the animals are treated and how they are feed.

A couple of months ago I was told to watch Food Inc. I was warned that it would have an effect on me. Nah, not me. I am strong-willed and not easily influenced. Boy was I WRONG! I am convinced that the a lot of health problems humans suffer are a direct result of diet you consume. Another one to watch is forks over knives. It really opens your eyes to how and where our food originates. Chickens, cows, and pigs are treated and fed horribly. Caged without room to sit, stacked on each other, covered in their own waste and fed antibiotics and even fed other animals. I am not saying to give up meat, but be conscious of where your food source is coming from. Support free range and organic. Free range is when the animals are allowed to roam free, without cages. Organic is no pesticides, no growth hormones, no chemicals. Yes shopping and buying these products can be more pricey, but in the end you may be saving yourself from hefty medical bills later. After all, you only get one body. You should think of it as a high class, high efficiency automobile. Those vehicles take high grade for a reason. You should only service and fill up your body with high grade product.

I have tried to reintroduce red meat within the last couple of weeks. I have tried this 2 times and have failed! Once at a lunch with a girlfriend and once today. Last week at lunch, I ordered an organic piece of beef. I immediately felt light headed and nauseous. I had to leave lunch early and go home for the rest of the day. I didn’t think much of it at the time. Then today, the same thing. Shortly after lunch, I began feeling sick and lightheaded like before. Being hard headed as I am, I decided to run anyway. Halfway through my 4 mile run, I thought I was going to pass out. I think my body has become use to not having that particular protein. When I try to reintroduce it, it makes me feel as though I am literally being poisoned. I do not see myself trying this again anytime soon. I am asking for help for any nutritionists or vegetarians out there? Have you experienced this before?

Feeling ill, I did manage to muddle through the 4 miles. I tried to focus on the positive and get back to my car in one piece. One thought I kept in my head was even though my lunch made me sick in the belly, it was an opportunity to catch up with a friend I hadn’t talked to in a really long time. And after all that, lunch was definitely worth it!!!

Happy eating!
Jess

20120501-203323.jpg

20120501-203329.jpg

20120501-203335.jpg

20120501-203340.jpg

20120501-203345.jpg

2 thoughts on “Red Meat

  1. My wife and I watched the movie Forks Over Knives, which has revolutionized our way of thinking about food. We are seriously considering changing our diet to a plant based diet. It is scary and odd, but the data from these studies suggest we are actually killing ourselves. I know it will be hard, but we need to support each other in this journey. Good for you for taking this new step as well!

    • I never thought I would be on this path… But I am. Good luck to you guys on your meatless journey as well.

Thoughts?

