She’s a Killer

Yesterday I ran 4 miles. Despite 9 good hours of sleep, it wasn’t as fast as I had hoped. I started out at a good clip, moving at what I guess was about an 8 or 9 minute mile pace. I haven’t been wearing my running watch lately. I am more relaxed without it. I started out at 64th and went south. I felt good until I turned around at 31st street. My legs weren’t tired but my lungs were.

This evening I figured I would run the same course and through in a little speed( not the drug). It has become clear I need to put in more intensity into my workouts. My new challenge is to have one of my runs during the week feature some sort of sprint or speed training. Tonight I warmed up with about 1 and 1/2 miles. Then I put in 2 quick 1/2 mile sprints. I then proceeded back north with a cool down run, the same 1 and 1/2 miles I did for the warm up. This gave me a total of 4 miles again tonight.

I coined this blog after the popular Queen song. Killer is how I felt during the sprints. My legs were moving. I focused on my form. I tried to stretch out my stride, but with these short legs it is hard. As I jogged the feeder road home on the slow and steady 1 1/2, I started wondering. What is the difference in being just plain tired and being tired after a good run? I think I was tired after putting in a decent run. It would have been ideal to have out in 4 1/2 mile repeats.

I am signed up for the Rock n Roll 1/2 marathon again this year. Team She rocks… He rolls will be running the relay for the third straight year. My goal is to get my mile pace down. What do you do for speed training?

Don’t forget, this Wednesday is National Running Day. Check out local running clubs near you. Runner Girl will be celebrating the day with friends with at a group run from our neighborhood Lululemon shop. Where will you be?

Happy speed training-
Jess

20120604-190827.jpg

20120604-190832.jpg

20120604-191011.jpg

One thought on “She’s a Killer

Thoughts?

