Hot Child in the City

“Danger in the shape of somethin’ wild
Stranger dressed in black, she’s a hungry child
No one knows who she is or what her name is
I don’t know where she came from or what her game is”

Hot child in the city
Hot child in the city
Runnin wild looking pretty
Hot child in the city

I couldn’t help but think of this song today as I ran. I have always loved this song since the days of Carrie Bradshaw and Sex and The City.

It was hot today and I was just trying to just get through. Running through a sea of tourists and crazies!

Instead of running to the boardwalk or even biking there, today I drove. It was so hot. My legs were still a little sore from my 6 miler this past Saturday. Today I jogged an easy speed 3 miles. I stopped about halfway through to take a water break from one of the boardwalk water fountains! I know…YUCK! It was so warm. My visor, sunglasses, and dry-fit clothes didn’t hardly help. As I headed back north towards my car my knee and foot began to twinge. I started to have thoughts of complaining run through my head. Then I was passed on the bike path by a man with a prosthetic leg. He was biking with his family and he had a big smile. I quickly rid myself of any negative thoughts that were trying to creep in.

I finished my run at the end of the boardwalk. And returned to my car as one hot and sweaty child in the city!

Thoughts?

