Allen Stone

Saturday July 21,2012. A rainy morning in Virginia Beach. I was up early just like clockwork. Another 5k on the schedule, Allen Stone. This race means a lot to our local Virginia Beach community. Having a large military population here, the death of a soldier or Seal can hit home for many. This race was to honor Allen Stone, a fallen Seal, and many others.

Normally I ride my bike down to the boardwalk for the races, but the rain didn’t look inviting. Luckily my friends Heather and Thao picked me up on their way.

We got there in plenty of time to see all the pre race festivities. The reading of the names of fallen heroes 😦 We witnessed the American flag being dropped in by the Leap Frogs. It was a very moving and motivating race opener.

By 7:45, all runners were psyched up and ready to go. There were several events at the Allen Stone. A run/swim/run, 5k, and 1 mile fun run. Team Hoyt was there participating in all events as well. The ocean was ripping and looked to pose a challenge for those uber fit athletes competing in the run/swim/run. It was cloudy and humid, but the rain had stopped. I was participating in the 5k. A start at 31st street for an out and back turn around at 8th street. If you’ve been following, you know I’ve been working on my speed. Tempo runs and speed workouts! The last 5k I ran just under 27. I was hoping to do at least that again. As the race began, I took off pretty good out of the gate rounding out mile 1 at 8:08. I settled in at a comfortable pace listening to a great playlist shuffle of Fleetwood Mac and some old school metal! I finished the 5k with an official race time of 25:55! I was thrilled. It would put me as a finisher in the top 100 out if 400 participants and 5th in my age group.

After the race we were treated to complimentary bloody Mary’s and swag by Tito’s Vodka. We tried to work out a temporary sponsorship 🙂 Team picture below!

After the awards, we enjoyed an after party and a fun lunch with friends! Overall a great race from the festivities, the fun, and the results!!!

20120722-085817.jpg

20120722-085825.jpg

20120722-085831.jpg

20120722-085834.jpg

20120722-085839.jpg

20120722-085843.jpg

20120722-085847.jpg

20120722-085852.jpg

7 thoughts on “Allen Stone

  1. Great time! Proud of you. Looks like the days of me keeping pace with you continue to fade into the distant past.

  2. 🙂 Nice run and nice article 🙂 Next race #277 is Noroflk Botanicla Gardens Summer Series Tuesday eve 🙂
    S/
    “Sunny”

Thoughts?

