Good Morning in Virginia Beach

Since this is my first post on www.HamptonRoads.com, I thought it would be appropriate to post an entry that really describes what future blogs will be about, the love I have for both Virginia Beach and running! Saturday morning I ran like I normally do. As you may know from previous Runner Girl posts, I was experiencing extreme muscle fatigue in my legs last week. Saturday’s run was strictly for a recovery. I didn’t time myself or aim for a certain pace. I knew I needed to log between 4-5 miles to stay on pace with my training schedule for the Rock n Roll relay. I will be running the second leg or relay team She Rocks, He Rolls as I have done for the past 2 years. Get ready Dad!  

I began the morning workout with some heavy stretching at home. I then biked down to the North End of the boardwalk. I locked up my bike and did some more stretching. I was armed with a new playlist set and was ready to settle in for a comfortable and easy jog. I ran south to about 9th street. I passed several other runners, lots of walkers, a roller skater, some bikers, and one kid coming out of his hotel restaurant who smelled sweetly of syrup!!!! Yum!!! I then turned around and headed back to my bike, which put me somewhere around 4 1/2 miles for the day.  By the time I fisnished, my legs already felt better than they did at the start. The run was enjoyable due to the sights, sounds, smells, and some partly cloudy skies early in the morning. The temperatures were a bit coller than earlier in the week as well. I enjoyed my morning time on the boardwalk. It was a good morning in Virginia Beach!!!

 

 

Happy Running

Jess

 

Thoughts?

