Been A Long Time Since I Did The Stroll

Friday evening was packet pickup for my Saturday morning Surfer’s Healing 5k. Surfer’s Healing is an event dedicated to honoring and uplifting children suffering with disabilities. Professional surfers take children with disabilities into the water on tandem surf boards. The children are in life jackets and the surfers hold on to them tight and pop them up when the wave comes. There is also a 5k along the boardwalk early in the morning. This event has a great participation by the Virginia Beach chapter of Team Hoyt. Team Hoyt was started by father and son team, Dick and Rick Hoyt. Team Hoyt Runners push children and individuals with disabilities in running strollers through races. This was the eighth year Virginia Beach has held the event.

As part of the Surfer’s Healing weekend event opener, a special guest was speaking Friday evening and as soon as I saw who it was, I knew I wanted to be there. Dick Hoyt of Team Hoyt provided a wonderful, optimistic, and honest dialogue regarding Team Hoyt, his son Rick, and the challenges and accomplishments they’ve faced together.

Dick and Judy Hoyt are the parents of 3 sons. During the birth of one of their sons, Rick, he suffered severe oxygen depreciation to the brain. This resulted in Rick’s diagnosis as a spastic quadriplegic with cerebral palsy. Also as a result, Team Hoyt was born! Dick and Judy didn’t institutionalize Rick as recommended. And they didn’t discount the abilities of Rick even though he spent most of his time in his wheel chair. At the request of Rick, the pair completed their first 5k together in 1977. They completed it by Dick running and pushing Rick in his wheelchair. Dick and Rick have completed over 1,000 races together. Marathons, Duathlons, Triathlons, and Ironman Competitions are among some of those.

Follow Dick and Rick on their next competition at www.teamhoyt.com

After having the opportunity to hear Dick Hoyt speak, it quickly put things into perspective. A slight over usage injury wasn’t going to hold me back or have me complaining. Saturday’s 5k would be my first run in two weeks after resting my body and legs. I finished the race respectfully at 27:08. A little slower than my last 5k, but still under a 9 mile pace, which is what I’m shooting for during my portion of the Rock n Roll Relay. The relay will take place 2 weeks from today. Training has all but stopped. A few runs between now and then to stay ready for my 5.2.

Like Dick and Rick, I began running with my dad as well. He will be my partner in the relay. I cant let our team “she rocks, he rolls” down. In appreciation for my dad and running I have included some Led Zeppelin in my training playlist. Yesterday near the end of the race, right on schedule, Led Zeppelin’s Rock and Roll came blasting through my headphones. I have come to think that this song was the most appropriate training song. The song is titled Rock n Roll and I am training for the Rock n Roll. I’m running the relay with my dad and one of his favorite bands is LZ. Yesterday the lyric ” been a long time since I did the stroll,” seemed apropos as it had been 2 weeks since I last ran.
This song provided enough motivation for the last 1/4 mile.

What’s are some of your favorite training songs or inspirations?

Happy Strolling
Jess

20120819-090545.jpg
the crowd gathers to hear Dick Hoyt

20120819-090644.jpg
Team Hoyt Runners Mark and Kendra

20120819-090726.jpg
Running Buds

20120819-090803.jpg
Led Zepplin

20120819-090849.jpg
Race Results

Thoughts?

