Why Cross Training is Important

If you have been a runner for any length of time, then you know the wear and tear it can have on your body. Regular rest and doing other forms of exercise is very important. Cross training is a necessity for all levels of runners. In a 2004 article from Runner’s World Magazine, they sighted 8 benefits to cross training. You will learn about a few of them here today.

According to Active.com, working out other muscle groups promotes total body strength and enhances your overall fitness . Cross training can also help you stay injury free. Since running is a high impact activity, strength training and muscle building can keep your body stronger and less likely to become injured.

Usually I run 3 days a week, bike 1 day a week ( usually Sunday as a post race workout to get rid of lactic acid), and I cross train 1 day a week. My cross training is every Thursday morning. I workout with my trainer at 79pt. I wish I had time to go twice a week, but with my running and LIFE, I can’t fit it into my schedule. I wrote this entry as I am coming off of one of the toughest 79pt workouts yet. I can barely walk today and soreness runs from my butt to my arms. In a weird way, I like the pain. Like Listerine, when it burns…it’s working. One of our latest workouts is as follows.

20120921-125111.jpg
Hell on Earth was the catch phrase when we first saw the board. But we got through it and at the end we were still smiling!

20120921-125213.jpg
6:55 am post workout and still smiling !

Happy Training

Jess

Thoughts?

