A Rainy but Successful Neptune 5k

It was 5k race day! This is the time of year I love the most. I jam pack my schedule full of 5k races nearly every weekend. The weather is usually pretty good and it makes it easier to achieve some pretty decent race times.

Saturday I woke up to a dreary morning. Rain was in the forecast and it was cooler than it had been.

20120930-091830.jpg

Usually I warm up with a bike ride to the race course, but the ominous clouds made me think twice. I drove down and got to the race early. I needed to get my race packet and chip prior to race start. I was able to score a primo parking spot and quickly grabbed my packet and pinned on my number.

20120930-091955.jpg

I began stretching on the sidewalk and the rain began soon after. No sunglasses needed for this race. Since the boardwalk was full of art vendors, this race would be a street course and was sure to have plenty of puddles. The 5k start was at 7:45 with the 8k starting thirty minutes there after.

Several of my friends were running in the 8k. Just two of us, Krista and myself, were scheduled for the 5k. I settled on the short 3.1 in attempts to score a decent time for myself. Also, I am not training for any long runs and the 5k has been my favorite ever since my cross country days. Our friends wished us luck and we took our spots at the 5k start. I decided I would start near the front. I needed to get out early and fast. Especially with the rain and the street course, it would be important to get out ahead of the crowd. This event was ankle timed not matt or chip times. That means that when the gun goes off, your timing begins. No need for adding extra seconds trying to fight from the back of the crowd. At the start, I took of quick and found a great spot in the middle of the road. The streets were extremely uneven and puddling quickly. The race started at 24th street and headed south. We circled the Rudee Loop for an out and back 3.1. It was a fast course. The challenges were the bumps, puddles, and rain. I quickly returned back to the start of the race that had now been switched to a finish line. I crossed at 26:10! Not bad for myself. It’s my second fastest 5k time this year. It turns out it was good enough for a third place medal finish in my age group! Krista took second place in our age group w 22:32! Crazy, nearly a 4 minute spread, but I’ll take it!

20120930-093847.jpg
A soggy second place, a soggy third place, and one who was running for two 🙂

20120930-094056.jpg

20120930-094102.jpg

20120930-094116.jpg

20120930-094124.jpg
Early morning good luck wishes 🙂

Next up, Crawlin Crab 5k !

4 thoughts on “A Rainy but Successful Neptune 5k

  1. Nice, congrats on 3rd place! We rode our bikes and pulled up just as the horn blew for the 5k and hand’t picked up our ankle tag. We started about four minutes after everyone. Literally, the last two to start. It wasn’t too bad running in the rain, a first for me.

Thoughts?

