The Ultimate Stair Climbing Competition

If you know me, you know I love a fitness challenge. I also enjoy supporting charities that help and empower others. The Up Center in Norfolk does just that.

The Up Center has been helping families in Hampton Roads for 125 years. This organization helps over 10,000 people a year. They promote strengthening families, protecting children, empowering people in crisis, and helping individuals living with disabilities. Some programs include: job training, food pantry, financial counseling, and parenting support. You can get involved here.

The Up Center has an event every year to raise money. A race to the top of one of the tallest buildings here locally, The Dominion Tower. You can race up 25, 50, or 100 flights of stairs. Or the extreme challenge is to climb the stairs as many times as you can in 2 hours. Since this will be my first year participating I opted for what I hope is a realistic goal. I have signed up to climb 50 flights of stairs. That is up and down twice!!! Sounds easy enough right? I must be crazy. If nothing else this will be a fun challenge to raise some cash for a cause. And it will be a great way to help burn some calories and get my rear in gear for Spring. Wish me luck. This weekend I plan to begin practicing and run some stairs.

You can read more on the website for the event and if so moved, donate through my fundraising link below. Consider a $5 donation as you picture me climbing the 50 flights of stairs on January 26. Or better yet, climb with me 😉

https://www.kintera.org/faf/donorReg/donorPledge.asp?ievent=1032272&supId=374846693

20130109-161855.jpg

Ugh!!!
What was I thinking?!?!

Happy Climbing
Jess

Thoughts?

