High Protein, Low Carb

This is a very popular time of year for people to begin dieting and working out. They become much more conscious of what they are eating. Their clothes may have started to feel tighter and they may feel sluggish. These are symptoms I started feeling soon after New Year’s Day.

Exercise has always been an important part of my lifestyle as well as eating right. But this time of year I like to bump it up. Part of that plan is a cleanse.

I’ve talked about cleansing on here before and I am doing it again. Flushing out the toxins and getting back to neutral. This cleanse is a simple one. High protein, no white food or starch, no alcohol, with lots of green tea and water. I will attempt to keep this up for the month of January. I’m also doing this with a group of friends. This is a great way to build support and share menu ideas with others.

Along with a diet change I bump up the exercise. I always sign up for some races and keep myself set on a goal.

Earlier this week I stocked up at my local Trader Joe’s on my high protein, low carb diet. Here are some sample menu ideas. 20130112-212839.jpg

Breakfast
Hard boiled Eggs
Cheese
Greek Yogurt

Lunch
Turkey and Cheese Toll Ups
Apples and Peanut Butter
Avocados

Snacks
Nuts
Turkey Jerky
Dried Fruit
Hummus

Dinner
Shrimp Stir Fry
Broccoli
Mashed Cauliflower
Salad
Brussel Sprouts
Lettuce Cup Tacos
Chili
Chicken Skewers
Vegetarian Omelette

So far so good. Been on it a week and feel great. Skin feels taught. I have energy for exercise and am sleeping better.

How do you recover from your holiday hangover?

What no carb menu ideas do you suggest?

Happy Loosing
Jess
20130112-213718.jpg20130112-213730.jpg

20130115-200835.jpg
Shrimp and Grits (mashed cauliflower)

20130115-203955.jpg
Salad with Lean Beef or Venison

20130115-204056.jpg
Lettuce Tacos with Venison and Beans

Thoughts?

