My Review of Wareings Gym, Part 2

Tonight was my second night trying out a class at Wareing’s Gym at the beach. It was recommended the night before that I check out the 5:30 Spin Circuit.

I arrived at the gym by 5:15 and there was already a line forming outside the spin room. Everyone was buzzing about the class. About 30 fit people, guys and girls alike seemed to be ready for this hour long adventure. The class was taught by one of the trainers and a member of the Wareing’s Management staff, Teri Twine. I noticed among the participants in the class were some other Wareing’s Trainers as well. The class began promptly at 5:30. We began with some warm ups and stretching. Then we were broken up into 6 groups. There would be six circuits throughout the class, two of them being spin circuits. Among the others were a TRX circuit, a ball slam circuit, and body bar circuit. Each circuit had three different exercises alternating 3 rounds each before moving to a new circuit. My favorite were the body bar and TRX. I love exercises that use my own body weight. Great music was pumping through the speakers the entire class! It was fast and loud, just like I like it. Teri walks around to help you with any exercise and correct your form if needed. She wears a headset and shouts out personalized motivation periodically throughout the class. During the last circuit, she cut the lights and did the final countdown. What an awesome way to finish! By the time the class ended at 6:30. I was drenched in sweat. For me, that is a sign of a fulfilling workout.

Speaking with Teri after the class, she mentioned this class could burn upwards of 800 calories! WHOA!!! That’s no joke!!! This class was a great way to challenge myself with other exercises that I haven’t done in a while. As I left the gym and thought about my workouts the past two nights, I was reminded of how important it is, as a runner, to develop my overall fitness.

Have you ever hit a fitness plateau? Have you ever not been able to loose those last 5 lbs? I recommend adding in a new workout to your weekly routine. Spinning is a great way to push yourself and work other muscle groups in your body.

This class gets high marks!!! It has me considering buying a Wareing’s 8 Class punch card to squeeze this class in from time to time.

Happy Spinning
Jess

20130115-204413.jpg

20130115-204422.jpg

20130115-204446.jpg

20130115-204430.jpg

To inquire about a fitness review of your gym, contact Jess Horton at jesshorton1@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “My Review of Wareings Gym, Part 2

  1. Hi Jess! Hope you’re feeling better!
    I totally agree. Wareings has by far the best classes around! I misssssss the classes, the gym, most of all the people! All of the instructors are motivational, energetic, positive, and FUN! They don’t make anyone feel inferior, and always there to help. Teri, Jake, Ben, Mike, Tony, Todd – love them all!!
    Good luck with training!
    Stay strong
    xoxo

Thoughts?

