Evofit

After attending the EVOFIT Function show last weekend at the Oceanfront, I knew I had to get back there as soon as possible and try a workout. I was able to experience that earlier this week. It was everything I had hoped and more.

A friend of mine works out there several times a week and raves about it. I met her there for a 5:00 pm session to see what it was all about.

After several friendly emails back and forth, it was great to meet the owners/trainers in person. Owners Debbie Puckett and Joey Guth were both on hand for the class. They opened the gym a few years ago at the original location near Dam Neck. Before branching out on their own with EVOFIT, the two met while working at another gym where at that time Debbie was a trainer and Joey was an intern.

Once I signed the waiver, I was ready to get started. We began with a warm up of rowing and stretching to get the blood flowing and muscles loose.

At first I was a bit apprehensive.

20130225-205327.jpg

20130225-205439.jpg

Overcoming my fear, we began with the workout. I learned some new vocabulary such as “clean”, “jerk”, “flight simulator”…ahhh what?!?!

20130225-205947.jpg

Watching my friend, mother of two, lift the weighted bar over her head, I was immediately inspired and became acquainted with the exercise myself. 15 minutes was set on the clock to find your 1 rep max at your heaviest weight.

Debbie and Joey tag teamed the instruction well. They focused on each person in the class as an individual. As a guest, it felt more like a personal training session than a group. Both helped me with the proper form and technique of each exercise. I felt safe, comfortable, and was guided while attempting these new moves. Joey and Debbie were there every step of the way.

I started with dumbbells and ended up with a 43 lb lift.

20130225-211231.jpg

20130225-211259.jpg
After the lifting portion of the night was finished, we moved on to the “flight simulator” portion of the workout. Or in my terms, jump roping and burpees.

Even though burpees are my least favorite exercise, I managed to stay positive with all the motivating words around the gym.

20130225-213323.jpg

20130225-213329.jpg

My review of EVOFIT is, if you are looking for a place for practical but challenging fitness, individualized instruction, and results that impact your daily life and overall physique, then this is the place for you. Two separate clients shared with me this workout formula is the only thing that has shaped and “shredded” their body into shape. They added that no 2 days are the same.

Monthly memberships are available. The quality of attention a client receives can be compared to that of one on one unlimited personal training. If this interests you, I urge you to contact EVOFIT today.

They also provide a Wednesday running club for those of you in training for upcoming races such as the Shamrock.

Happy Lifting
Jess

Thoughts?

