Monument Ave

My dad’s college track buddy, Dr. Steve Gardner, used to say “If you don’t throw up at the end of a race, then you didn’t run fast enough.” Well, on Saturday I thought that would be my fate, right there on the side of Monument Avenue. I wish I could say it was due to pushing myself to the limit. Unfortunately, this was one of the worst races I’ve had in quite a while. I managed to finish under an hour for the Monument Avenue 10k, but I felt horrible the entire time. I’m not sure what caused it. I was down with the flu the week before and can only attribute that I am still not back to 100%.

I was so exited to run this race. It had been on the list for several years. And this year I managed to have the time for a quick trip to Richmond. Stonewall Jackson, Robert E. Lee, 40,000 runners and some of my dear friends. The cobblestone streets and monuments made for a beautiful course. I hit the 5k mark at 27:00, which put me on pace for a 54:00 minute 10k. Coral H, with 750 other runners, is where I started and was the 54:00 minute group.

20130414-103432.jpg

As I rounded Monument on the way back, something awful happened. I felt so sick I had to stop and walk !!! This never happens to me. I have been running this mileage or more for a while. I was so disappointed. My legs felt fine, but I was plagued with reflux. Thank goodness for a Luke Bryan song coming through my playlist, he managed to help me get to mile 4.5. Then again, with about 12 minutes to go, I had to stop again. Thank you to the mystery man who ran by me and encouraged me to keep going. Even though I felt like yacking, you lit a fire under me enough to push through the finish line.

After finishing somewhere between 57-59 minutes with tears in my eyes, I moved into the park to find my friends. After a few group photos and bottles of later, I knew I would have to come back and run again next year. The course was beautiful and had tons of great energy. Unlike J&A races, there were no medals, swag, or beer at the end 😦 But overall a good race.

To quote another Steve, StevenTylerYou got to lose to know how to win.” And it seems like that pretty much sums up my run.

Push on
Jess

20130414-110001.jpg
Pre race photo

20130414-110018.jpg
Post race photo

20130414-110107.jpg
Elite Runners Start

20130414-110141.jpg
Pre race stretch and warmup

20130414-110511.jpg
Expo Fun

Thoughts?

