Tuesday Track: How Big Is Your Brave?

I heard a song several weeks ago that stuck with me and I have been listening to it a lot lately. Sara Bareilles has a new single out, Brave (watch it HERE). The lyrics in this song seem to have come straight out of my head and heart. I am including some of the lyrics to the song because I think it is important for you to have the context around my words.

You can be amazing
You can turn a phrase into a weapon or a drug
You can be the outcast
Or be the backlash of somebody’s lack of love
Or you can start speaking up
Nothing’s gonna hurt you the way that words do
And they settle ‘neath your skin
Kept on the inside and no sunlight
Sometimes a shadow wins
But I wonder what would happen if you

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I wanna see you be brave

I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I wanna see you be brave

Everybody’s been there, everybody’s been stared down
By the enemy
Fallen for the fear and done some disappearing
Bow down to the mighty
Don’t run, stop holding your tongue
Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is

I have always been an intense person. I am very vocal with my voice and thoughts. I am intense with goals as well. I put a lot on my plate, and sometimes people don’t seem to get it.  Through the years this quality of mine has offended people and even pushed some away. I have always thought of the quality as a strength of mine, however I never thought of it as brave. But this song is making it more acceptable for me to think that in some strange way, it just may be.

What are you afraid of? Is it your work? Is it an upcoming race? Is it a personal goal? Over this past weekend I could have pushed a little harder in all of these. Can you push a little harder at work? In a workout? With a relationship? Think about this for a moment and determine how big your brave is. Does your brave carry you to a 5k, a 1/2 marathon, a full, a tri? I always have a little bit of fear at the start of training for any new goal. As I am currently in training for the Rock n Roll 1/2, I am afraid. I am afraid of the scorching Virginia Beach temperatures, I am afraid of my mental toughness not holding up. i am afraid of Camp Pendleton.  I am afraid of giving a poor showing to Girls on the Run. I do believe that our dreams/goals should make us somewhat afraid or uneasy. If they don’t intimidate us, I don’t think they are big enough. For me being afraid keeps me accountable and motivated!

Be brave and believe

Jess

One thought on “Tuesday Track: How Big Is Your Brave?

Thoughts?

