JWF Nutritional Overhaul: Week 2, Results and Question’s Answered

Last Monday I began a complete JWFNS nutritional overhaul. I was done with feeling tired.  I have now completed my first week of the overhaul.  The plan was extremely easy for me to follow, because again, I stress to you it is NOT a diet. Remember ,my goals are to have ore energy, loose a few lbs before the Rock n Roll 1/2,  and feel better overall.

There have been a few major take a ways for me this week.

1. I have noticed I have more energy throughout the day. Eating several times throughout the day keeps my metabolism going. I am fueling my body with the right kind of food instead of a quick fix.

2. Being prepared with the right food in your house at the beginning is the key to success. Clear out the pantry and fridge of all junk/fake food. If it isn’t an option, you won’t have it. Stock up on fruits, veggies, and lean proteins.

3. Water, water everywhere. I have been drinking more water than ever before. Normally when I wake up, I have a large glass of water. Start the day out by hydrating and flushing all toxins that may have settled in the night. Keep a bottle of water with you at all times.

I have received several emails, texts, and questions regarding the JWFNS nutrition overhaul. Two questions have come up repeatedly.

#1. “Did you have to cut out wine?” Let me say, that while I enjoy wine from time to time…actually I love champagne, but until I have something big to celebrate (like a 1/2 marathon), that has been corked and stuck in the fridge until further notice. I asked JIm White about the caloric intake of wine just for you wine-o’s who keep asking 🙂 You may be shocked or disappointed to hear this.  According to Jim White wine is fine for 4-5 oz a day. He also states, if you don’t drink it now, then don’t start.  Alcohol is a huge dehydrator, slows down the fat burning process, destroys b vitamins and may stimulate the appetite.  It can take 31 minutes of walking and 13 minutes of jogging to burn one 4 oz glass. Let’s face it, how many of you are having a 4oz serving and is it worth it?

#2. “Are you eating?” “What are you eating?” If you know me at all, you know I like to eat, but that doesn’t mean I gorge myself like everyday is Thanksgiving. I have been using 2 different apps to help record my food and exercise. This takes the work out of it, the app records calories brought in and calories burned.  Check out Calorie Counter and My Fitness Pal to help you track.  To prove that I really am eating, I thought I would include a sample meal plan. These are not the only options on the plan, but an example of how do-able it is.

Breakfast:

1 whole wheat english muffin
1 Tbsp almond butter
1 serving of fruit

Snack:

String cheese, fruit, almonds, or yogurt

Lunch:

Turkey Sandwich with lettuce and tomato on Gluten Free bread or a salad with 3 oz of lean protein

Snack:

String cheese, fruit, almonds, or yogurt

Dinner:

3 oz of lean protein, 1-2 cups of veggies, 1/2 cup of brown rice-couscous-squash

I allowed for extra calories on my cheat days and indulged on Saturday with 2 draft beers and a few bites of bar food appetizers.  Although, they both seem to have lost their luster and appeal. I am not sure either are worth it 🙂

7 days later I am 2 lbs lighter (121 down to 119) and have noticed a much flatter belly. More importantly, I feel better!!!  So there you have it, if you treat your body right, it will repay you 🙂

Jess

***Remember this plan was created by Jim White and tailored specifically for my nutritional needs based on weight, height, exercise level, lifestyle, and overall health goals. The best way for you to experience results would be to have a meal plan customized for you .

2 thoughts on “JWF Nutritional Overhaul: Week 2, Results and Question’s Answered

Thoughts?

