Jim White Fitness: Cupcakes & Casualties, Week 5

Mini Cupcakes = Set Back

Mini Cupcakes = Set Back

This week was a challenge for me. To be perfectly frank, I fell slightly off of the Jim White Fitness wagon. Work, puppy sitting, work, running, work, WOD, work, run, Stella & Dot, work, run…

Last week, 3 out of 5 nights involved after work commitments. This meant a dinner menu that wasn’t of my choosing. This is not a moment for me to make excuses. In fact, it was a big slap in the face for me to wake up and take control and accountability of my health. I was definitely reminded of how normal life distractions can creep in and derail your efforts if you are not careful.

The past month I have been pretty “strict” on the Jim White Fitness program and have found it pretty easy to keep up with. But after a recent grocery shopping trip for a “girl’s night in” that I was hosting, I realized how tempted and taunted I was by the cupcakes and wine sitting on my countertop.  I didn’t even know I missed wine until I took my first sip. I have cut my cocktails back this month to include only vodka and water. I will say, to all of you who questioned giving up the wine, I see how this was challenging for you. It is so much easier to just pour a glass of wine than to mix a cocktail. However, judging by how I felt the next morning after a few glasses of wine, it was proof that I didn’t miss it enough to indulge. Swollen, puffy eyes are not a good look for me.

This past week I did kick up my workout intensity. My training was bumped up a notch with some more weight training and running workouts. This seemed to make me hungrier than normal. I think that was partly due to the fact I was burning more calories and partly due to the fact I wasn’t fueling my body properly. I have done pretty well the past few weeks warding off hunger. I can’t help but think I have a 13.1 mile run next weekend too, and maybe that does give me a little bit of entitlement to eat whatever the hell I want! I think that this is somewhat true. However, after partaking in the cupcakes that were calling to me from the counter, just like the wine, it was not worth it. I think the key is to have a small amount, then you can be ok. But, if portion control is a challenge for you, don’t even bring the sweet treats into the house to begin with. My friends and family tease me when they visit that there is nothing good to eat in my house. I find that if it isn’t here, I will not eat it. And if it is here…well…you get the idea.

A few days of flushing with water and green tea should take care of this minor set back. Also, being that the 1/2 marathon is less than a week away, I know it is more important than ever to regulate my nutrition. Nothing new, no major changes, just get back to the Jim White Fitness plan. I will need all the help I can get to help me move swiftly through the 13.1 miles.

Above all, it is important to realize that a set back isn’t a failure. A few days off of the plan may have been the loss of a battle…but not the war.

Current Weight: 119

This week the JWFNS plan will be in full force allowing for a few more calories to accommodate the Rock n Roll.

The work out plan for the week is as follows:

Monday – 4 miles easy

Tuesday – 79 PT and a Floatation Therapy Session

Wednesday – EVOFIT Run Club, speed workout

Thursday – weights

Friday – muscle release work from VB Pilates Club

Saturday – 2 miles easy

Sunday – 13.1 !!!! Rock n Roll 1/2 marathon

Rock n Roll On

Jess

***Next week stay tuned for a Rock n Roll update, new weekly workout plan, and nutritional plan changes***

JWF Week 1

JWF Week 2

JWF Week 3

JWF Week 4

Thoughts?

